Archive | Composition and Research Highlights


Polina Nazaykinskaya Awarded a Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship

The Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to share that Ph.D. Composition and Music Theory student Polina Nazaykinskaya has been awarded a Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans. Polina is one of four CUNY students to win this prestigious and generous award for 2015. Congratulations, Polina! For more information about Polina Nazaykinskaya, see: For more information […]

Read More

Composer Angélica Negrón lands New Fellowship & Commission from the ACO

The Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to share that composition student Angélica Negrón was recently selected as a Van Lier Fellow for American Composers Orchestra. This year-long program immerses fellows into the professional environment of the ACO as they work with the orchestra, interact with composers, and gain experience in all facets of orchestra music, including composition, […]

Read More

Symphonic Poem by Ph.D. Composer Polina Nazaykinskaya Performed by the Minnesota Orchestra

The Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to congratulate Ph.D. Composition student Polina Nazaykinskaya on the recent performance of her symphonic poem “Winter Bells” by the Minnesota Orchestra.  Featured in a concert series titled “The Art of Russia: The Slavic Soul,” Polina’s work was chosen to be featured on the program following its enthusiastic reception […]

Read More
little rock banner

GC Faculty Composer Tania León commissioned to write an Opera on the “Little Rock Nine”

The Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to share that GC Faculty member and composer Tania León has been commissioned by the University of Central Arkansas to write an opera in collaboration with Henry Louis Gates Jr. as her librettist for the upcoming 60th Anniversary of the “Little Rock Nine” events of 1957. The opera, titled Little Rock […]

Read More

Haralabos [ Harry ] Stafylakis to be featured in the 23rd Annual Underwood New Music Readings Sessions

The Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to share that the American Composers Orchestra will be performing a symphonic version of “Brittle Fracture” by GC Composer Haralabos [ Harry ] Stafylakis as part of the 23rd Annual Underwood New Music Readings Sessions.  Harry is one of seven composers chosen from an international pool of more than 400 […]

Read More
Piano Ballade 2

Joseph Prestamo wins this year’s Robert Starer Composition Award

The Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to announce that the winner of this year’s  Robert Starer Composition Award is Joseph Prestamo for “Ballade” for solo piano. Joseph described this work in the following program note (quoted from his website): “Chopin was the first to use the title ‘Ballade’ for an abstract, single movement piano work. Many composers, […]

Read More

GC Composition Student André Brégégère to present at the International Csound Conference

The CUNY Graduate Center is pleased to announce that composition doctoral student André Brégégère will be presenting his composition, Against The Grain, at The International Csound Conference at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts at the end of October. The International Csound Conference provides a venue for Csound developers and users to discuss various aspects of the audio […]

Read More

Composition Student Jessica Rudman to Present at 2014 SAM Conference

The Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to announce that one of our Composition Students, Jessica Rudman, will be presenting a paper titled “Disruption and Development: Pitch Processes in the Music of Ellen Taaffe Zwilich” at the Society for American Music 2014 Conference in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Of the 313 proposals received for the conference, approximately 47% […]

Read More

Brook and Starer Award Winners Announced

The CUNY Graduate Center Music Program is pleased to announce the winners of the Brook and Starer Awards for this year: Barry Brook Dissertation Award:   Nathan Bowen for “Mobile Phones, Group Improvisation, and Music: Trends in Digital Socialized Music Making” Robert Starer Composition Award:  Jessica Rudman for “First Praise” for Mixed Sextet   Congratulations to Nathan and Jessica!

Read More

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes

Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message
Skip to toolbar