GC Student Julia Danitz Performs D.M.A. Recital–Stream Online!

On Wednesday May 12, 2021 at 1:00pm EST, violinist Julia Danitz will perform a grand program of works by Eugène Ysaÿe, J.S. Bach, Dai Fujikura, and Ludwig van Beethoven. The program features twelve movements total, all requiring a range of arduous expression from the instrument. Ysaÿe Sonata No. 4 (1924) is an hommàge to Fritz Kreisler, one of the greatest violinists of all time, who is known for his noble and sweet manner in his virtuosity. The work exudes dignity and its compositional  style is inspired from J.S. Bach’s solo violin works. Also on the program is Bach’s monumental Sonata No. 3 in C major, BWV 1005 (1720), which includes the only 4 voice fugue written for a stringed instrument.

Dai Fujikura’s Samarasa (2010) challenges the a violinist’s right arm as he was fascinated by constant string crosses for a stringed instrument, drawing inspiration from a pendulum.

Pianist Han Chen will join for the Beethoven Sonata No. 7 in C minor, Op. 30 no. 2, one of the most dramatic Beethoven sonatas in the violinist’s repertoire.

For more information and the streaming link:


Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes

Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message
Skip to toolbar