The Doctoral Program in Music Theory offers a solid foundation in the principal subfields of our discipline, including Schenkerian theory, post-tonal theory, and the history of theory. Our faculty and alumni have made major contributions to the field and we have an impressive record of placing our graduates in academic positions.

The music theory faculty includes Kofi Agawu, Mark Anson Cartwright, L. Poundie Burstein, Norman Carey, Johanna Devaney, Philip Ewell, Philip Lambert, Shaugn O’Donnell, Jonathan Pieslak, William Rothstein, Mark Spicer, and Joseph Straus. The Theory Department helps sponsor a series of free lectures and workshops under the auspices of the Graduate Center Music Forum.

Students interest in applying to the Music Theory Program at the
Graduate Center should feel free to contact Prof. Burstein

Learn more here

Research highlights

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes

Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message
Skip to toolbar