Current Musicology Students

Dongmyung Ahn

  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: Research interests: medieval liturgy, renaissance and baroque instrumental music and performance practice
  • Instruments: baroque violin, rebec

Naomi Barrettara
https://nbwrites.commons.gc.cuny.edu/

  • Contact: nbarrettara@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: Music and Copyright, Music and Technology, Opera studies, Italian opera in the 18th and 19th century

Danielle Bastone

  • Contact: dbastone@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: Analysis of Mozart’s operas; Music and the eighteenth-century Enlightenment

Jacob A. Cohen (Jake)
http://gc-cuny.academia.edu/JacobCohen

  • Contact: jcohen@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: American Music, Music and Place, Popular Music, Ecomusicology, Charles Ives, Carl Ruggles, Aaron Copland, Grateful Dead, Talking Heads

Paulina Piedzia Colon

  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: 20th century Polish music, music and socialism, commedia dell’arte imagery in music composed between 1890 and 1930.

Aya Esther Hayashi

  • Contact: ahayashi@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: Musical theatre, musics of participatory science fiction fan cultures

Thomas Hedrick (Tod)
http://todhedrick.com

  • Contact: thedrick@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: sixteenth-century Franco-Flemish vocal polyphony, Renaissance and Baroque performance practice, unaccompanied 20th-century instrumental repertoire, music of Gerald Finzi.
  • Primary Instruments: Double Bass, viola da gamba.

Tom Marks

  • Contact:  tmarks@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: 17th-century music in Germany; late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century American music; the voice and opera; gender and sexuality studies.

David McCarthy

  • Contact: dmccarthy@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: German Critical Philosophy and Its Readers; Aesthetics, Politics and Ethics; Comedy and the Comic; Intellectual Histories of Sound after 1850; Media and Technology

Evan Moskowitz

  • Contact: edmoskow@gmail.com
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: History of the avant-garde; Mysticism in the 20th century; Musical and literary modernism; Giacinto Scelsi; Erik Satie

Alana Murphy
http://soundcloud.com/alana-murphy-piano

  • Contact: amurphy@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: 18th- and 19th-century piano music, ballets of the Romantic era, Fin-de-Siecle Vienna, Ferruccio Busoni

Elizabeth Newton

  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: aesthetics of popular music, musical economies, music and literature, modernism, lo-fi and experimental music

Christopher G. Ogburn

  • Contact: cogburn@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: The reception of Richard Strauss’s operas; German opera; American country music

Loretta Terrigno

  • Contact: lterrigno@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology, Music Theory
  • Research Interests: Schenkerian analysis, German Lieder in the 18th and 19th centuries, Brahms studies, Music/text relationships, Narrative theory in music

Shaena B. Weitz

  • Contact: sweitz@gradcenter.cuny.edu
  • Concentration: Musicology
  • Research Interests: Nineteenth-century French instrumental music, nineteenth-century music journalism in France, England, and the United States, pianists and pianism c. 1800-1840.

 

If you are a current student in the GC Music Program and would like your name and information added to this list, please fill out the Current Student Information Form.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes

css.php
Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message
Skip to toolbar